top of page

Nine-point Code of Conduct and the Ten Guiding Principles

Sri Sathya Sai Sai Baba has proclaimed the Nine-point Code of Conduct and the Ten Principles as a guiding light for spiritual and personal development.

Nine-point Code of Conduct

  1. Daily meditation and prayer.

  2. Devotional singing/prayer with members of family once every week.

  3. Participation in Bal Vikas (Sai Spiritual Education) and other educational programs conducted by the Organisation for children.

  4. Attendance at least once per month in group devotional programs conducted by the Organisation.

  5. Participation in community service work and other programs of the Organisation.

  6. Regular study of Sai literature.

  7. Putting into practice the principles of “ceiling on desires” and utilising any savings thereby generated for the service of mankind.

  8. Speaking softly and lovingly with everyone with whom he/she comes into contact.

  9. Avoiding talking ill of others especially in their absence.

Ten Guiding Principles

  1. Love and serve your country. Do not be critical of others’ countries.

  2. Honour all religions, for each is a pathway to the one God.

  3. Love all people without distinction; know that humanity is a single community.

  4. Keep home and surroundings clean.

  5. Help people to become self-reliant. Provide food and shelter, love and care, for the sick and the aged.

  6. Do not tempt others by offering bribes or demean yourself by accepting them.

  7. Do not develop jealousy, hatred, or envy on any account.

  8. Do not depend on others to serve your personal needs; become your own servant before proceeding to serve others.

  9. Adore God, abhor sin.

  10. Observe your country's laws and be exemplary citizens.

Looking for your nearest Sai Centre ?

bottom of page